top of page

BLOG

  • Writer's picturedonaldsoncoaching

Welcome to the new Bunkai Bloke site!

It's been a long time coming! I've been working on this stuff for a very long time, probably since around 1996, when I first started looking outside of my existing karate style to understand kata in more depth. Since then, I have had a passion for kata and how it applies to real self defence. Some time ago, the idea came to me that I could give back. Contributing to those around me has always been a massive driver for me and I am extatic that I can do so within a vehicle that I love... Karate kata. This site represents a new chapter as well as the culmination of years of work. The idea to develop a Bunkai curriculum came to me over beers and cookies with a good friend and teacher, Jason Griffiths. Since that time, he has endlessly encouraged me to share what I know with the world. This is my attempt to do just that. I am working on a program that systematises these lessons into a learning framework that is familiar to many Karate-ka. This will become more clear over time, but for now, I'd just like to say thank you for visiting and I can't wait to share what's in store for the future!

64 views0 comments
bottom of page